Powered by Blogger.

The 5 Languages Of Love Quiz

Here is an update to the previous post The 5 Languages Of Love, which I published during the valentine day period. It's a great book that helps us understand our partners better and meet on the same page of communication.  In the post, I added a free pdf copy of the book as well as an audiobook link. 

Why I am writing this update? well... my partner and I haven't lived together for a long continued period like this 4 months period in the Caribbean since we got together 6 years ago. And that is due to us living - working in different countries from the start. While living here almost 24/7, we got the chance to know each other a little bit more and see new sides of each other since we are both expats in a strange country/culture to us, not his or my hometown. So with that being said, yesterday just out of curiosity I tried The 5 Languages of Love Quiz and I made my partner do it as well as part of "getting to know" each other more, once again. 

I was really surprised at our results, which were an exact match to how we both behave around each other. And it explained all the misunderstandings we had because I was behaving based on what I've seen as a (loving act or treat) and he didn't get it because his love language is totally different from mine. And it goes the other way around... In fact, the most two important things for me in relationship ranked the lowest in his love language. Yep! But as we all know, finding solutions starts with pointing out the problem source. So in order to be on the same page and maintain harmony in a partnership, one will be considering the differences before the things in common.

If you have a similar experience of some sort, try it yourself, you will be surprised at the results. Here I recommend reading the book if you are someone newly in a relationship, or before you decide to move in with someone or make any big serious jump. Get the book for FREE. It will open your eyes to a new different perspective and ways of communication. Love language is not only related to the married couple. It's for all type of relationships. My love languages are:

Acts of Service
Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an "Acts of Service" person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: "Let me do that for you." Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don't matter. Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

Words of Affirmation
Actions don't always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, "I love you," are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.

Quality Time
In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, "I love you," like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there – with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby – makes your significant another feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality Time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

Receiving Gifts
Don't mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous – so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are visual representations of love and are treasured greatly.

Physical Touch
This language isn't all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.

post signature

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Search This Blog